

LEGAL OR NATURAL DEPENDENT(S)

Article VII, Section 6(a) of the Florida Constitution provides that a property owner with legal or equitable title may qualify for homestead exemption if the property is the permanent residence of a legal or natural dependant of the owner.

Once the homestead exemption is granted, it becomes subject to the automatic renewal provisions of State law. However, if you qualify for homestead exemption solely because your natural or legal dependant(s) permanently reside on the property, the exemption may be removed when your dependant(s) lose their dependent status (e.g. when they reach the age of 18) or no longer reside on the property. Therefore, you must notify the Property Appraiser's Office whenever any of the following changes occurs: use or ownership of the property; legal status of the owner or legal/natural dependant(s); change of residence of the legal/natural dependant(s) or other relevant factors. (Ref. 196.031, Florida Statutes).

If you are seeking a homestead exemption on the basis of your natural or legal dependant(s), please complete the form below to apply for the homestead exemption. **Applicant must** <u>also</u> complete the Homestead Exemption application (DR-501).

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT

1. Please provide the following:

NAME OF LEGAL OR NATURAL DEPENDANT	RELATIONSHIP TO APPLICANT	DATE OF BIRTH	LEGAL RESIDENT / IMMIGRATION STATUS (i.e., US Citizen)		
(Attach additional sheets if necessary. Please provide copies of birth certificates or immigration documents indicating citizenship.)					
2. Do you reside on the property with your dependant(s)?		YES 🗖	NO 🗖		
If NO, who lives with your dependant(s)?					
3. Do you or your dependant(s) claim a homestead exemption benefit on any other property? YES MO					

If YES, list each full address: _____

AFFIRMATION: I hereby attest that my application for homestead exemption on the above-referenced property, completed on the date referenced above, is made on because my legal or natural dependant(s) permanently reside on the property, as required by Article VII, Section 6(a) of the Florida Constitution and Florida Statutes §196.031. I affirm that the answers are true and correct. The property is the true and permanent residence of my legal or natural dependant(s), and there are no limitations or legal impediments to my dependant(s) living permanently on the property. I authorize the Property Appraiser of Miami-Dade County to obtain information to determine my eligibility for homestead exemption on the basis of my natural or legal dependant(s). I understand that under section 196.131(2), Florida Statutes, any person who knowingly gives false information to claim homestead exemption is guilty of a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment up to 1 year, a fine up to \$5,000, or both. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the foregoing affidavit and the facts in it are true.

Signature	Date	Daytime Phone
Print Name	Email Address	