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Attach
Copies

Miami-Dade County Office of the Property Appraiser

Folio:

Social Security Number
Marital status
Did you file for tax exemptions last year?
Last year's address
City/State

County

Proof of residence for all owners
Date you last became a permanent
resident of Florida
Date of occupancy

Florida driver license number  & Issue Date

Florida vehicle tag number & Issue Date

Florida voter registration number & Issue Date

Immigration number
(Alien Card - if not a U.S. citizen) & Issue Date

Date of Birth

Current employer

I hereby authorize the Miami-Dade Property Appraiser's Office to obtain information necessary to determine my eligibility for the exemption
(s) applied for. NOTE: If all information is not received by March 1st, your application will be processed for whatever exemptions you qualify
for on that date. I hereby make application for the exemptions indicated and affirm that I do qualify for same under Florida Statutes. I am a
permanent resident of the State of Florida and I own and occupy the property described above. I understand that section 196.131 (2).
Florida Statutes provides that any person who knowingly and willfully give false information for the purpose of claiming homestead
exemption is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by a term of imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not
exceeding $5,000 or both. Further, under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the foregoing application and the facts in it are true.
I understand that if I file this application before January 1st, of the year for which I am applying and subsequently move out of the property
before January 1st, then I will notify the Miami-Dade Property Appraiser's Office promptly as required by law. ONLY PERSONS INDICATED
ON THIS APPLICATION AS RESIDING OWNERS AND PROVIDING HEREIN THEIR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER AND FLORIDA
RESIDENCY PROOFS WILL BE THE RECIPIENTS OF THE HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION BENEFIT IF THIS APPLICATION IS
GRANTED. ATTACH ADDITIONAL SHEETS IF NECESSARY.

Signature of Applicant Signature of Co-applicant Signature of Deputy

Date: ______________ Phone Number:  __________________ Entered By

Documentation Required For All Items Below
Homestead Exemption up to $50,000
$5,000 Disabled Veteran
$500 Widow/Widower Exemption
$500 Disability Exemption
$500 Blind Person's Exemption
Total and Permanent Disability Exemption - Quadriplegics
Total and Permanent Disability Exemption - Civilian
Service Connected Total and Permanent Disability Exemption
Exemption for Disabled Veterans Confined to Wheelchairs

NOTE: If you wish to apply for the 65 + additional homestead
exemption you must file form DR-501SC. However, you must
either receive, or apply for, the regular homestead to get the 65 +
additional homestead exemption. If you have already received
regular homestead exemption, you do not need to file another
Form MDR-501.

Original Application for Ad Valorem Tax Exemption

MDR-501
R. 10/10

Permanent Florida residency required as of January 1

Note: Disclosure of your social security number is mandatory. It is required by section 196.011 (1), Florida Statutes. The social security number will be used to
verify taxpayer identity information and homestead exemption information submitted to property appraisers. Your social security number will be kept confidential
by the Miami-Dade Property Appraiser's Office.

  Percent of Ownership: _____          Type of Deed: ________________

  Recorded Book: ___________   Page: ______

  Date Recorded: _____________           Date of Deed: ______________

Ownership Information

Owner Co-OwnerSpouse/Owner

Are you a US Citizen?

OFFICE USE ONLY (WILL SUBMIT)

Address listed on your last IRS return

New Change Additional

Tax Year 2011

Applicant/Co-Applicant Name and Address:
_______________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________
Legal Description:
_______________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________
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I hereby authorize the Miami-Dade Property Appraiser’s Office to obtain information necessary to determine my eligibility for the exemption(s) 
applied for. NOTE: If all information is not received by March 1st, your application will be processed for whatever exemptions you qualify 
for on that date. I hereby make application for the exemptions indicated and affirm that I do qualify for same under Florida Statutes. I am a 
permanent resident of the State of Florida and I own and occupy the property described above. I understand that section 196.131 (2), Florida 
Statutes, provides that any person who knowingly and willfully gives false information for the purpose of claiming homestead exemption is 
guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by a term of imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $5,000 or both. 
Further, under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the foregoing application and the facts in it are true. I understand that if I file this 
application before January 1st, of the year for which I am applying and subsequently move out of the property before January 1st, then I will 
notify the Miami-Dade Property Appraiser’s Office promptly as required by law. ONLY PERSONS INDICATED ON THIS APPLICATION AS 
RESIDING OWNERS AND PROVIDING HEREIN THEIR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER AND FLORIDA RESIDENCY PROOFS WILL BE 
THE RECIPIENTS OF THE HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION BENEFIT IF THIS APPLICATION IS GRANTED. ATTACH ADDITIONAL SHEETS 
IF NECESSARY.



This application must be filed with the property appraiser on or before March 1st 
 
The information contained in this application will be provided to the Department of Revenue and the 
Department and/or the property appraisers are authorized to provide this information to any state in 
which the applicant has previously resided, pursuant to 196.121, Florida Statutes. Social Security Numbers 
will remain confidential pursuant to sections 193.114(5) and 193.074, Florida Statutes. 
 
Notice:  A Tax Lien can be imposed on your property pursuant to Section 196.161, Florida Statutes. 
 

Section 196.161 (1) provides: 
 
(1)(a) When the estate of any person is being probated or administered in another state under an 

allegation that such person was a resident of that state and the estate of such person contains real 
property situate in this state upon which homestead exemption has been allowed pursuant to s. 196.031 
for any year or years within 10 years immediately prior to the death of the deceased, then within 3 years 
after the death of such person the property appraiser of the county where the real property is located 
shall, upon knowledge of such fact, record a notice of tax lien against the property  among the public 
records of that county, and the property shall be subject to the payment of all taxes exempt thereunder, a 
penalty of 50 percent of the unpaid taxes for each year, plus 15 percent interest per year, unless the 
circuit court having jurisdiction over the ancillary administration in this state determines that the 
decedent was a permanent resident of this state during the year or years an exemption was allowed,  
whereupon the lien shall not be filed or, if filed, shall be canceled of record by the property appraiser of 
the county where the real estate is located.  (b) In addition, upon determination by the property 
appraiser that for any year or years within the prior 10 years a person who was  not entitled to a 
homestead exemption was granted a homestead exemption from ad valorem taxes, it shall be the duty of 
the property appraiser making such determination to serve upon the owner a notice of intent to record in 
the public records of the county a notice of tax lien against any property owned by that person in the 
county, and such property shall be identified in the notice of tax lien.  Such property which is situated in 
this state shall be subject to the taxes exempted thereby, plus a penalty of 50 percent of the unpaid taxes 
for each year and 15 percent interest per annum.  However, if a homestead exemption is improperly 
granted as a result of a clerical mistake or omission by the property appraiser, the person improperly 
receiving the exemption shall not be assessed penalty and interest.  Before any such lien may be filed, the 
owner so notified must be given 30 days to pay the taxes, penalties, and interest. 


